Waucoma Historical Society - Waucoma Iowa - Fayette County Iowa

Waucoma Historical Society


"The dream of a local historical society became reality for Waucoma on January 14, 1990."  This is a quote from the organizational records of the Waucoma Historical Society.  The Society was founded to preserve the history of our area and to promote Waucoma and the surrounding communities. The Historical Society celebrated their 20th anniversary in 2010 and many changes have taken place since the Society was first organized.

Waucoma is located in the northwest corner of Fayette County, Iowa and is a community of approximately 300 residents.  Waucoma is one of six communities that make up the Turkey Valley Community School District and the town is home to many independent businesses.   

Since its organization in 1990, the Waucoma Historical Society has grown to include 3 buildings:  the Historical Center which is the former Federated Church building, a museum which houses many antiques and memorabilia of Waucoma, and an old country school house which is home to school items from Waucoma and the surrounding area.

We welcome new members at any time.  Yearly membership fees are $10.00 for single membership or $15.00 for family memberships.


Contact one of the following officers for information about the Historical Society:

Norma Hackman 563-776-6041 or e-mail normahackman@yahoo.com

Elaine Myers 563-776-4331 or e-mail pmyers@iowatelecom.net

  Dave Wenthold 641-330-4286 or e-mail d_wenthold@hotmail.com



Waucoma Historical Society - Waucoma Iowa - Fayette County Iowa